Annual Awards & Nomination Criteria

GCPOMS Awards & Scholarship Committee

PLEASE SUBMIT YOUR NOMINATION TO: The due date for submitting nominations is January 1, 2020.

P.O. Anthony J. Johnson Sr. Police MEMORIAL Officer Of The Year Award

In honor of Cleveland PD PO Anthony J. Johnson, Sr. who was shot and killed responding to a bank robbery in progress on October 21, 1981.

  • Award recipient must serve within the GCPOMS region
  • A dedicated officer who is involved in law enforcement and community organizations demonstrating unselfish service (not necessarily GCPOMS)
  • Ten years or more of service as sworn police officer consistently demonstrating excellence in professional and community leadership

Lance Corporal Andrew W. Nowacki Memorial Veteran Of The Year Award

In honor of United States Marine Corps L/CPL Andy “Ace” Nowacki who was killed in action during his second tour of duty in the War for Iraqi Freedom on February 26, 2005.

  • Award recipient must serve within the GCPOMS region
  • A police officer or community leader who actively served in the military
  • Must have been honorably discharged from the service or currently on active or reserve duty
  • Distinguishes themselves based on professional productivity and demonstrated leadership in the community and veteran’s organizations/causes

Samuel H. Miller Lifetime Achievement Award

Named after one of Cleveland’s most storied philanthropists and friend of law enforcement who wholeheartedly offered his support, and was instrumental in our dream becoming a reality when the Greater Cleveland Peace Officers Memorial was dedicated on May 14, 1993. He continues to be one of the major reasons the Memorial was built and maintained in the condition that is reflective of the respect and honor due to our fallen heroes.

  • Any member of the community who has distinguished themselves throughout their adult life in giving back to the community especially through support of law enforcement and philanthropic efforts.
  • An individual who has been involved throughout his or her life and who remains active in community affairs through civic organizations.

Patrolmen Norman A. Drew Memorial Citizen Of The Year

In memory of Patrolmen Norman A. Drew who was killed in a motorcycle accident on December 18, 1975 while on duty with the Key West, Florida PD responding to an “officer needs assistance” call

  • Non law-enforcement community member
  • Candidate has demonstrated ongoing support of Law Enforcement in the region
  • Volunteer efforts that demonstrate creativity, vision, and leadership that positively impact the welfare of the community
  • Person who stands out and makes a difference in the lives of our local citizenry

President’s Award

Awarded to one person each year who actively supports the goals of the Memorial Society and by their continued efforts has significantly contributed to furthering those goals.

  • Presented at the discretion of the President

Pete Lawer Memorial Scholarship

Named in honor of a legendary police officer who was one of the founding members of the Northern Ohio Patrolman’s Benevolent Association (now the Ohio PBA). He was a dedicated police officer and family man who worked tirelessly to protect the rights of the men and women with whom he served. He was also a major force in the founding and development of the Greater Cleveland Peace Officers Memorial Society.

  • A police officer who wants to further their career, or a student studying law enforcement with intent to enter a career in Law Enforcement
  • Enrolled in an accredited college or university program and the college or university has demonstrated support of the law enforcement community
  • Applicant or applicant’s family must reside within the GCPOMS region
  • Maintains a cumulative G.P.A. of 2.75
  • Applicant cannot attend Antioch College, Kent State University or Wright State University

More information about the Pete Lawer Memorial Scholarship…